Manistee County Administration, Manistee, Michigan
Manistee County
County Government
Sheriff's Office
County Government
County Financial Information
Calendar of Events
Administrator's Office
Board Of Commissioners
County Clerk
Courts
Equalization Department
Prosecuting Attorney
Planning Department
Register of Deeds
Treasurer
More Departments and Services
Community Services
County Events
Friday, 18 April 2014
Citations E-mail

HOW TO PROCEED ONCE YOU’VE RECEIVED A CITATION

To Admit Responsibility.  If you wish to plead guilty or admit responsibility and pay your fines and costs, determine the amount owed by checking the list of common violations listed below.  After you have determined the correct amount owed, sign the back of the ticket where appropriate; make a check or money order payable to the 85th District Court (do not mail cash).  Be sure to write the ticket number on your check/money order.

Paying in Person.  You may pay in person by visiting a cashier at the 85th District Court.  Please note payment in coin is not accepted.

Electronic Payments.  The court does not have the capability of receiving electronic payments.  If you wish to make payment with your credit card, please call Government Payment Services at 888-604-7888.  You will need to give them PAY LOCATION CODE #1036 along with your ticket number. To make a payment online go to: www.governmentpayment.com.  Please note they will charge you a fee for this service.  ALSO, MAKE SURE 85th DISTRICT COURT MANISTEE IS SELECTED.

 

Contesting the Citation.  If you wish to contest the citation, please contact the court at 231-723-5010.

Failure to respond to the citation in the prescribed manner will result in a default fee being assessed; suspension of your driving privileges (reinstatement fee required); and a 20% late fee being assessed if the fine is 56 days overdue.
 

 

COMMON VIOLATIONS

**This schedule is subject to change without notice**



 

 

SPEEDING  
 5 mile over (2 points)    $100.00
 6 to 10 miles over (2 points)  $110.00
 11 to 15 miles over (3 points)  $120.00
 16 to 20 miles over (4 points)  $155.00
 Violation of Basic Speed Law (too fast for conditions,  
 without due care and caution, improper backing)  
 (2 points)  $115.00
   
 FAILED TO YIELD/STOP  
 Red Light/Stop Sign (3 points)  $115.00
 Failed to Yield (2 points)  $110.00
   
 PASSING  
 Prohibited/Improper/Unsafe (3 points)  $105.00
   
 DRIVING  
 Following Too Closely (2 points)  $100.00
 Careless Driving (3 points)  $190.00
   
 MISCELLANEOUS  
 Seat Belt Violation (0 points)    $65.00
 No Proof of Insurance (No proof provided) (0 points)  $160.00
   
 OPERATOR'S LICENSE/PLATE VIOLATIONS  
 Expired Plate (No proof provided) (0 points)  $110.00

 


This is only a partial list of possible citations.  If you do not see your violation or are unsure, please contact the court at 231-723-5010.

 

To find out information regarding State of Michigan Driver Responsibility fees check out the SOS website @ www.michigan.gov/driverresponsibility

 

Last Updated on Wednesday, 12 June 2013 08:07
 

General Website Inquiries:
Manistee County Administrator
415 Third Street
Manistee, Michigan 49660